South Carolina Philharmonic


August 04, 2011

Single-ticket sales begin Aug. 15th

Single-ticket sales for the South Carolina Philharmonic’s 2011/2012 Masterworks Series begin Monday, Aug. 15th at 9 a.m. through Capitol Tickets in Columbia.

The “it’s big!” Masterworks Series offers a seven-concert season that runs from September 2011 through April 2012 at Columbia’s Koger Center for the Arts (1051 Greene Street). Prices for five “standard” concerts begin at $17 and run to $47. “Premium” concerts on February 11, 2012 and April 28, 2012 have tickets priced from $23 to $53.
Bank of America continues a long-standing tradition as the SCP’s ticket sponsor for the 2011/2012 season.

Capitol Tickets operates from the Carolina Coliseum Box Office (701 Assembly Street), offering in-person sales and a charge-by-phone line at 803.251.2222 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Capitol Tickets also operates, offering access to SCP tickets on a real-time seating chart 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Additional charges apply to phone and Internet orders.

Full-season subscription sales began May 2 through SCP Audience Services. Prices range from $85 to $260 for adults and $80 to $248 for those 65 and older. For the “it’s big!” season, the SCP is offering “it’s a big deal!” For the first time in orchestra history, new subscribers get a 50% discount on most seats for the full season in 2011/2012.

Subscriptions are available 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday from SCP Audience Services by calling 803.254.PHIL (7445), in person at 721-B Lady Street, or online at

The SCP is happy to offer half-price subscriptions and single-tickets to children under 18 and students and active-duty, retired, or reserve members of the U.S. Armed Forces. Valid photo ID is required to receive this discount.


(Click here for a printer-friendly season schedule)

Set to begin his fourth season with the SCP, Music Director Morihiko Nakahara is proud to present a season featuring some of the biggest works of the classical music repertoire along with guest artists – some familiar, some not – who’ve graced stages around the world.

“Autumn Romance” opens the season Thursday, Sept. 15, 2011. Violinist Jennifer Frautschi makes her SCP debut, playing the Korngold Violin Concerto, before the season’s first big work: Tchaikovsky’s “Pathétique” Symphony.

Schumann’s Fourth Symphony headlines the annual audience-favorite “Beethoven & Blue Jeans” concert Oct. 15, 2011. The concert combines another popular SCP concept: the Oktoberfest Biergarten, which offers pre-concert German food – and yes, beer – at the Koger Center. Biergarten admission is $15 ($12 for SCP subscribers), with tickets available through SCP Audience Services.

Other season highlights include the “Mostly Mozart” concert Nov. 5, 2011, Rimsky-Korsakov’s romantic, sensual Scheherazade at the Feb. 11, 2012 concert, and pianist Martina Filjak’s return to the SCP’s stage March 24, 2012 for the wildly popular Rachmaninoff Third Piano Concerto, often known as “Rach 3.”

The biggest highlight of the season could come in the April 28, 2012 finale, when the SCP performs the monumental Beethoven Ninth Symphony, commonly known as the “Ode to Joy,” featuring choirs and vocal soloists from all corners of South Carolina.

Nakahara continues his commitment to introducing Midlands audiences to new music by programming works by guitarist Johnny Greenwood of rock band Radiohead (Jan. 14, 2012), Mason Bates (Sept. 15, 2011) and Charlestonian Edward Hart (April 28, 2012.

« Back to List of News