South Carolina Philharmonic


July 19, 2010

Philharmonic announces officers for 2010/2011

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Philharmonic’s leadership underwent some minor changes when the fiscal year turned over at the beginning of July.

Five members of the SCP’s Board of Directors serve as officers and members of the executive council, which is headed by the president of the board.

  • Thomas R. “Tom” Gottshall, Esq. began the second year of a two-year term as president of the SCP Board of Directors and his eighth year on the board. He is a shareholder in the law firm of Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A., in Columbia.  Gottshall received a B.A. from Yale University in 1967 and a J.D. from the University of Pennsylvania Law School in 1970. In addition to his practice, he served as chair of the Products Committee of the Torts and Insurance Practice Section of the American Bar Association. He currently serves as a board member of the AllSouth Federal Credit Union, on the advisory board of the Atlantic Legal Foundation in New York and has been a speaker on historical topics, including Columbia’s early history.  He and his wife Susan have three daughters.
  • William O. “Bill” Danielson of Irmo is transitioning from the SCP’s vice president to president-elect. Danielson is co-principal of Danville Business Advisors of Columbia and is to become the SCP’s president in July 2011.
  • Cory Manning, Esq. of Columbia is transitioning to vice president after serving as the secretary and parliamentarian for three years. He is an attorney with Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP in Columbia.
  • W.M. “Bill” McDowell, Jr. of Lexington is continuing as the SCP’s treasurer, his 7th year serving in that capacity. McDowell is a partner with McDowell Pearman CPA firm of Columba.
  • Arthur T. “Artie” Hughes of Lexington joins the executive council as secretary and parliamentarian in his third year on the SCP board. He works for Wilbur Smith Associates in Columbia.
Additionally, the SCP welcomes three new members to its Board of Directors in 2010/2011. Tom Fortson of Terminix Service, Inc. and Jason Gowdy of Wachovia Bank/Wells Fargo begin three-year terms and Symphony League President Emmala Barnett joins for a one-year term – the duration of her term as Symphony League president. 


Jason Rapp, Communications Director
South Carolina Philharmonic
721 Lady Street, Suite B, Columbia SC 29201
(P) 803.771.7937   (F) 803.771.0268

« Back to List of News