South Carolina Philharmonic


March 18, 2013

Nakahara announces 50th season

Showing gratitude for 50 years of community support and artistic collaboration are twin goals of the South Carolina Philharmonic’s 2013/2014 season, announced by Music Director Morihiko Nakahara at the Koger Center Saturday evening.

Nakahara was joined by arts and community leaders as he unveiled plans to world premiere two commissions celebrating the milestone season and four big collaborations with arts and community groups: Trustus Theater, the Columbia Museum of Art, Celebrate Freedom Foundation, and USC’s Southeastern Piano Festival.
A ticketing change is designed to further thank the Midlands, as children 17 and younger can get free tickets to standard Masterworks concerts, and college students will benefit from $5 rush tickets on Masterworks concert nights.

Seven concerts comprise the Masterworks Series, which begins October 4, 2013 rather than a customary September date and runs to a June 15, 2014 finale.

The first concert, Opening Night, is highlighted by the world premiere of a bassoon concerto by two-time, Grammy Award winning composer Joan Tower. The as-yet untitled concerto was composed with SCP Principal Bassoon Peter Kolkay in mind, a friend of Tower’s whom she credits for leading the charge to commission the work. Kolkay will serve as the evening’s guest soloist. 

“I am very much looking forward to coming to Columbia to work with the extraordinary bassoonist Peter Kolkay and the S.C. Philharmonic for the premiere of my bassoon concerto. As some of you may or may not know, there is very little repertoire for the bassoon and orchestra ... But this instrument, although not powerful in volume, has a beautiful and ethereal sound that it projects – almost haunting in its individual color,” Tower said.

A November 9, 2013 concert, Youth Movement, features works by youthful composer Mozart and a solo piano performance by California high school senior Dong Kim, 2012 winner of the Arthur Fraser International Concerto Competition at the USC Southeastern Piano Festival.

The second world premiere of the season comes in casual comfort at Beethoven & Blue Jeans on Jan. 11, 2014. Columbia composer John Fitz Rogers is dedicating a commission to the SCP’s 50th season. The concert also features guest pianist Alessio Bax performing Brahms’ First Piano Concerto.

An all-Russian program including Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite is offered at The Russian Soul on Feb. 8, 2014, and guest violinist Saeka Matsuyama visits April 5, 2014 for Gershwin, Gatsby, and All That Jazz. Matsuyama and a Toru Takemitsu work mark a collaboration with the Columbia Museum of Art, presenting an “Art Deco Japan” exhibit in spring 2014, announced Saturday night by museum Executive Director Karen Brosius.

Multiple-time Grammy Award winner banjo player Bela Fleck composes too, and headlines Bela Fleck May 3, 2014 as he presents his own Banjo Concerto. Piano Extravaganza closes the season in June. Presented in conjunction with USC’s Southeastern Piano Festival, it features Marina Lomazov on piano, among others.

Multiple special event concerts complement the Masterworks Series in 2013/2014. The SCP closes out 2013 with a Sunday, Dec. 15 holiday pops concert at the Midlands Technical College Harbison Theatre in Irmo, and presents three mornings of Link Up educational concerts in partnership with Carnegie Hall on Feb. 18-20, 2014. 

From Feb. 28 through March 2, 2014, a chamber-sized orchestra will be part of the cast at Trustus Theater’s production of Every Good Boy Deserves Favour, a play by Andre Previn and Tom Stoppard. The collaboration was announced Saturday night by Trustus’ executive director, Larry Hembree.

For the final special concert, the Celebrate Freedom Foundation plans to present the SCP in a pops concert June 11, 2014 at Township Auditorium.

New Masterworks Series subscription sales begin Wednesday, May 1, 2013 through SCP Audience Services: 803.254.PHIL (7445) and at Prices run from $80 to $248 for seniors age 65 and older and from $85 to $260 for adults. Child (17 and younger) subscriptions are free in 2013/2014, and college students and active duty or retired members of U.S. Armed Forces receive half-price subscriptions.

Single-concert tickets sales begin Sept. 3, 2013 through Capitol Tickets. Standard concert ticket prices start at $17 and go to $47, while premium concert prices run from $23 to $53. Children 17 and younger may receive free tickets to standard concerts and half-price premium concert tickets. College students and active duty or retired members of U.S. Armed Forces may purchase half-price tickets to all concerts, and college students are eligible for “student rush” $5 tickets on concert nights for grand tier and balcony seating, as availability allows.

Media Contact

Jason Rapp, Communications Director
(P) 803.771.7937   (F) 803.771.0268

« Back to List of News